The Free Universe
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Welcome to the forums for Public Domain Super Heroes Wiki and The Free Universe! Discuss public domain and open license properties.

HomeGalleryLatest imagesSearchRegisterLog in

Landmark Universe: The Sanction

Go down 
4 posters
AuthorMessage
SimonKirby

Landmark Universe: The Sanction Empty
PostSubject: Landmark Universe: The Sanction   Landmark Universe: The Sanction EmptyFri Oct 21, 2011 8:27 pm

Hi guys, Simon here again.

As some of you might already know, I've been developing a superhero RPG for several years, set in an AltReality I call "The Landmark Universe". At the moment, I'm working on a story arc addressing the "unexplained" disappearance of superheroes after the War. The working title is The Sanction and examines the meteoric rise and fall of golden age superheroes.

As most of us old comics guys are already aware, the superhero genre experienced a sudden explosion between 1938 and 1945, then practically died out between 1946 and the early 50s. The Sanction examines the reason for this decline, inferring a high-level government conspiracy followed by a bureaucratic cover up. Here's my take on the subject:

Way back in the mid-thirties, when the shadow of war was looming across Europe, the American military began conducting scientific experiments aimed at enhancing natural human abilities to create the perfect soldier. The "Super-Patriot" project sought to transform ordinary men and women into superhumans via chemicals therapy and exotic energy sources.

Originally code-named Operation Eagle, the Super-Patriot project achieved a significant rate of success. Contemporary records estimated that over 70 percent of military test subjects were endowed with 'transhuman' powers and endurance, giving rise to the first generation of "costumed heroes".